The Mustache Story

Peculiar title I know. It hasn’t got much to do with anything, only that I have a story to tell you about it. A few weeks ago I thought I’d become a mustache-man. My grandfather has a mustache and so I thought hey why not myself as well. After all many business men of the past have had mustaches. I let it grow for two weeks and honestly it did not grow much since I’m not a hairy person. Long story short, I caved to the constant criticism from my mother and some other peers. I shaved it off and I am glad to have done it. I saw a young man, like myself, on a bus with a mustache and he looked hideous and so in retrospect it was a good fashion decision. What I don’t like about the story is that I let other people’s opinions and nagging get me and in the end change my mind about it! The story is very specific yes but we can learn from it. We can learn that we should not cave to anyone’s criticism and remarks because most people just do that in order to have a certain control over you, either unconsciously or consciously. The lesson: don’t shave your mustache if you like it! Don’t do anything against your own will, be your own man! I forget about this, golden rule, many times.

When I started with this blog I intended to give more specific examples of success and record my own path to grandeur. I haven’t, thus far, gone too much into myself but I will whenever there are major things to report on. Right now the first full month of me working at Studio Moderna is coming to an end. I have been relatively successful at work, averaging about 250€ of sales per day, which is not bad at all for a beginner. For comparison the best salesmen there average a good 600€/day. I just need to sell enough in order to get into the reward system, for which I have to sell 37€ per hour to get 2.6% of net sales. Anyhow, it’ll be enough to pay my bills, to get food in my stomach, buy a thing or two here and there and of course to invest in myself.

I have been investing mainly in books and digital products these past months. I spend a good 100€ a month to buy digital products. I do so mostly on AppSumo, which is a fantastic website that all of you should start using! It offers discounted products from various companies, mainly in the internet business: from applications, guides, subscriptions etc.  I buy books at the Book Depository. I have just bought eight books and I will specify which at the end of this blog post. I invite you to comment on the choices and comment on anything, to get some movement going on the site. Right now I am not really advertising this and I don’t get much traffic but that isn’t important to me, since I do this both for myself and anyone who might stumble upon the blog. I hone and craft my writing skills with this otherwise I’ll forget how to do it. I would though want to see links from the blogs of the readers and whatever they recommend so that we can incorporate that in here as well. I love recommending other’s websites as you can see. As such you should definitely check Timothy Ferriss’ blog site and Morning Coach. Tim Ferriss is a world-class writer with books such as the 4-Hour Workweek and the 4-hour Body. His blog features very interesting posts such as business case studies, his insights and loads of other great stuff. And what is Morning Coach?  A fanstastic subscriber based website. Each day the founder JB Glossinger has a 15 minute podcast in which he just energizes you for the whole day with Self-improvement material, business and so forth. It’s also very useful as a daily guide and you should definitely check it out. Another wonderful website is The Art of Manliness. The two founders, who are a married couple, write fantastic articles about how to be manly, about virtues, style and more.

I have to give praise for all these three amazing services. Combine AppSumo, Timothy Ferriss’s blog and Morning Coach for a maximum daily intake of business, self-improvement, great ideas and more. Aside from working, educating myself I have also been working on a business concept of mine and alpha versions of it will be unveiled on the 30th of January. I’m really excited about it, and I hope you also will be. Well, the two readers that I have. I am still very grateful for each and every one of you! Gratitude is crucial in anyone’s success. I will elaborate on this notion in the upcoming post.

List of books I have just ordered:

  • The 22 Immutable Laws of Marketing
  • The Prince
  • Blue Ocean Strategy
  • Man’s search for Meaning
  • The Tipping Point
  • The Millionaire Messenger
  • Steve Jobs: The Exclusive Biography
  • The Autobiography Of Andrew Carnegie And The Gospel Of Wealth

Highly recommended websites:

AppSumo

Timothy Ferriss Blog

Morning Coach

The Book Depository

The Art of Manliness

